Advertisements

Adlens: PSVR 2 Prescription Lenses | Review

I’ve been a fan of VR for many years, owning both the original PlayStation VR headset and the recently released PlayStation VR 2. The initial ‘wow’ moment you get from first stepping into this new reality never goes away, developers always seem to come up with new ways to enhance your experience and pull you into their world – something that’s impossible to do via the ‘flat screen’ of your TV.

However, Over the last few years I’ve not enjoyed being in VR as much as I used to, all because of one thing – my eyes. My eyesight has gradually gotten worse, making everything blurry both in real life and within the VR headset. Sure, I ‘could’ wear my glasses whilst donning the headset but I tried that with the original PSVR and it resulted in one of the lenses getting slightly scuffed when I spun my head, causing the glasses to scrape against the unprotected lens inside.

So, when I got my PSVR 2 headset I didn’t want to take any chances – I tried it without any glasses but I was very disappointed with the visual clarity, initially blaming it on the headset itself until I admitted it was a ‘me’ problem as others were praising the visual quality. So, I did the unthinkable – I tried it briefly with glasses and immediately saw a difference, not much, but it was there. Scared of damaging this rather expensive device, I reached out to a few companies that create prescription lenses for various VR headsets – today I’m looking at Adlens, who kindly send me a pair to review.

**If you use our unique discount code at the basket, GAMEPITT15ADLENSVR, you’ll get 15% off https://store.adlens.com/product-category/vr-pro-optics/**

Adlens 1

What you get…

Adlens are a UK company that can create prescription lenses for multiple VR headsets, such as the PSVR 2, PICO 4, META Quest, Oculus Rift S, Oculus Go and META Quest 2. They can even apply additional filters to help with eye strain and anti-fatigue on certain products (PSVR 2 included). We were kindly sent a pair of their “VR ProOptics for PSVR2”, these are the standard lenses which don’t have any of the additional coatings on them – they’re fully compatible with eye tracking, eliminate all reflections, repel grease, grime and dust, and they’re both water repellant and scratch resistant.

Ordering the lenses was very easy, even if you have a prescription from the opticians that you can’t understand! There are three ways to order, you can manually input the prescription (sphere, cylinder and axis for both eyes), simply upload a copy of the prescription and let the team decipher it for you, or pre-order and post your prescription to them (the order won’t be processed until they get the prescription in the post). And, that’s it! All you have to do now is pick if you want 24 or 48 hours shipping (once processed, which is 5 to 10 working days), and pay – then, sit back and wait for them to arrive!

Upon delivery, you’re presented with a little box. Inside this box is a small instructions pamphlet, a cleaning cloth, and a cute mini hard case – like the kind you get with the DualSense Edge. Inside the case are your lenses, housed in netted supports on both sides of the case – meaning you can easily, and safely, transport the lenses in here without ever worrying they’ll bang into each other or become damaged when not in use. However, if you’re the only person using your VR headset, there’s zero reason for them to never be in use…

Red Matter 2 20230514161728

A simulated image showing how I saw differently with the lenses!

Do they work?
First of all, ensure you’ve proved them with a fairly recent prescription, I got mine re-done the day I provided it to them, but they recommend it to be no older than two years. You’re spending quite a bit of money on these, so you want them to last as long as possible. At the time of my lens’s arrival, I hadn’t received my new glasses at the correct prescription, so I was very excited to try them out – it would be the first adjustment in around fifteen years and I had no idea if it would be the same as my old glasses or slightly better – it was neither…

Before attaching the lenses I jumped into two games, Moss and Horizon – both of which looked great but I had trouble reading the text and couldn’t find a sweet spot to make the image clearer than I’d experienced games on the older PSVR 1 headset. Then, I easily clipped on the new Adlens lenses… It was like experiencing VR for the first time all over again, the same games were now enhanced from below SD to UHD, text was no longer a problem and I could even see individual pixels if I focused hard enough – it was a night and day difference.

I continued checking out other games I had for the headset, each one looked so much better than it did before – I found myself staying in VR as long as possible as I could see clearer in there than I could in real life! I honestly can’t explain how well these work, as someone that can’t even see the TV without glasses anymore, these are an essential part of the headset and I don’t think I’ll ever use any VR headset in the future without first purchasing a pair.

I honestly didn’t think the benefit would be that great, if at all. The lenses in the headset are right up against your eyes and I’m short-sighted, so I imagined things that are virtually far away would still be close to me – this isn’t the case. 

Adlens 3

I like the box they came in!

Do I recommend them?
100%, without a doubt, I highly recommend these prescription lenses to anyone that requires glasses but doesn’t want to risk damaging the lenses on their VR headsets. I’ve been thoroughly enjoying playing games in VR again, I’m just annoyed with myself that I didn’t think of trying this for my PSVR 1 headset as I imagine a lot of experiences would have been much more immersive. How much it’ll benefit ‘you’ will come down to how bad your vision currently is without glasses, but if you need them at all then I expect you’ll instantly notice the difference.

As I’m the only one using the headset, I’ve left the lenses attached. They do a great job of protecting the original lenses as they sit a little above the originals, acting as a barrier due to these being much easier to wipe clean with the protective layer on the glass. However, just so they are extra protected, I have a cheap rubber lens cover which I grabbed from Amazon – this is moulded to fit the original lenses in the PSVR2 headset yet due to being rubber it perfectly fits over the Adlens lenses as well, so I could easily continue to use it.

Which is best for you?
Adlens has a few options available for PSVR 2 headsets – there are your standard lenses (which I have), ones with a Blue Shield Light Filter (reduced eye strain by absorbing blue light), high-power lenses if you have a strong prescription, and their new XP-Pro Gaming Lens. The XP-Pro are yellow tinted (like the gaming glasses you can buy) which enhances the image contrast, helps reduce fatigue during long play sessions, and they have UV420 protection – these will be perfect for those with sensitive eyes (my next pair will probably be this as bright lights often make my eyes sting).

Trailer:

.
Final Conclusion:
I know it may seem cliché but Adlens re-opened my eyes to the incredible wonder of Virtual Reality. For me, it was like moving from SD video to UHD, allowing me to thoroughly enjoyed everything I see and play without having to squint and constantly adjust my headset just so I can make out text or what’s going on in the background. If you use VR regularly or are looking to get into it but you’re put off due to vision issues, then these are an essential purchase – they’re well worth the asking price as your VR experience will be enhanced immensely.

**If you use our unique discount code at the basket, GAMEPITT15ADLENSVR, you’ll get 15% off https://store.adlens.com/product-category/vr-pro-optics/**

A pair of prescription lenses were kindly sent to us for review

Adlense VR ProOptics for PSVR2

£80
10

Final Score

10.0/10

The Good:

  • I can finally enjoy VR with no visual issues
  • Fits the PSVR 2 headset perfectly
  • Comes well packaged with their own carry-case
  • Easy to order and match my prescription perfectly
  • They have additional lens types for those that want more protection for long play sessions

The Bad:

  • Nothing
Share this article!

You may also like...

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
50 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anthony Ranaldi
Anthony Ranaldi
7 months ago

Explain to me how easy you mention to put them in the vr2 lenses because for me it was a struggle, it took me 5 minutes to fiddle them in.

Rob
Rob
7 months ago

As long as you’re putting them in the right way, they should just clip right in with very little force or effort.

At first I was putting them in the wrong way up, which was tighter due to being the wrong orientation, but as soon as I spun them around they clicked in with a gentle push.

Puravive
3 months ago

I loved you even more than you’ll say here. The picture is nice and your writing is stylish, but you read it quickly. I think you should give it another chance soon. I’ll likely do that again and again if you keep this walk safe.

Temp mail
3 months ago

I enjoyed it just as much as you will be able to accomplish here. You should be apprehensive about providing the following, but the sketch is lovely and the writing is stylish; yet, you should definitely return back as you will be doing this walk so frequently.

temp mail
3 months ago

Somebody essentially help to make significantly articles I’d state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual post incredible. Fantastic job!

BlogMerk
2 months ago

you are in reality a good webmaster The website loading velocity is amazing It sort of feels that youre doing any distinctive trick Also The contents are masterwork you have done a fantastic job in this topic

BusinessVise
2 months ago

Thank you for the good writeup It in fact was a amusement account it Look advanced to far added agreeable from you However how could we communicate

BreakReloadd
2 months ago

of course like your website but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the reality on the other hand I will certainly come back again

Technibardd
2 months ago

I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here The sketch is tasteful your authored subject matter stylish nonetheless you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike

temp mail
2 months ago

Hey, cool post There is an issue with your website in Internet Explorer; could you please check this? Because of this issue, many people will overlook your excellent article because IE is still the most used browser.

AeroSlim Weight loss for sale

I have been browsing online more than three hours today yet I never found any interesting article like yours It is pretty worth enough for me In my view if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before

Sakarya escort bayan
1 month ago

Escort Sakarya Bayan Birbirinden güzel kadınlarla alakadar ne ararsanız bulabileceğiniz Bayan arkadaş arama sayfası sizin için 24 saat hizmet sunar.

AeroSlim Weight loss benefits

I have been browsing online more than three hours today yet I never found any interesting article like yours It is pretty worth enough for me In my view if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before

temp mail
1 month ago

Hi there, I thought I saw you visited my website, so I came back to say hello. I suppose I could take a few of your ideas since I’m trying to figure out how to make my website better.

temp mail
1 month ago

Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

temp mail
1 month ago

This asset is incredible. The radiant material shows the maker’s earnestness. I’m dumbfounded and envision more such astonishing presents.

puravive reviews
1 month ago

This entrance is phenomenal. The splendid substance displays the maker’s dedication. I’m overwhelmed and anticipate more such astonishing posts.

temp mail
1 month ago

This page is fabulous. The brilliant information reveals the creator’s interest. I’m awestruck and envision further such astounding substance.

escort Sakarya bayan
1 month ago

Narin ve tatlı, aynı zamanda escort sakarya sakarya arkadaş canlısı ve eğlenceyi seven bir insanım. Her zaman gülümseyen ve çok açık fikirli güzel bir hanımefendiyim. Doğal bir vücudum var, inanılmaz deneyim arayışında iseniz o halde ne arzuladığınızı bana iletebilirsiniz.

health massive
1 month ago

This webpage is outstanding. The site owner’s passion is evident in the excellent content. I’m in awe and anticipate reading more amazing pieces like this one.

Fitspresso Reviews
1 month ago

Fantastic site A lot of helpful info here Im sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious And naturally thanks on your sweat

NeuroTest reviews
1 month ago

Hi my family member I want to say that this post is awesome nice written and come with approximately all significant infos I would like to peer extra posts like this

aeroslim reviews
1 month ago

Magnificent beat I would like to apprentice while you amend your site how can i subscribe for a blog web site The account helped me a acceptable deal I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

Joint Plus CBD reviews

It seems like you’re repeating a set of comments that you might have come across on various websites or social media platforms. These comments typically include praise for the content, requests for improvement, and expressions of gratitude. Is there anything specific you’d like to discuss or inquire about regarding these comments? Feel free to let me know how I can assist you further!

Joint Plus CBD reviews

Thank you for reaching out! If you have any specific questions or topics in mind, please feel free to share them, and I’ll do my best to assist you. Whether you’re curious about a particular technology, scientific concept, literary work, or anything else, I’m here to provide information, advice, or engage in a discussion. Don’t hesitate to let me know how I can help you further!

tempmail
1 month ago

Hi i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to Return the favore I am attempting to find things to improve my web siteI suppose its ok to use some of your ideas

fitspresso real reviews

Your blog is a treasure trove of wisdom and positivity I appreciate how you always seem to know just what your readers need to hear

temp.mail
1 month ago

certainly like your website but you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very troublesome to inform the reality nevertheless I will definitely come back again.

alpilean reviews
27 days ago

As a fellow blogger, I can appreciate the time and effort that goes into creating well-crafted posts You are doing an amazing job

ikaria lean belly juice

Your posts always provide me with a new perspective and encourage me to look at things differently Thank you for broadening my horizons

biolean reviews
25 days ago

you are in reality a good webmaster The website loading velocity is amazing It sort of feels that youre doing any distinctive trick Also The contents are masterwork you have done a fantastic job in this topic.

biolean
25 days ago

I loved as much as youll receive carried out right here The sketch is tasteful your authored material stylish nonetheless you command get bought an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

qweqtt
23 days ago

Hi my family member I want to say that this post is awesome nice written and come with approximately all significant infos I would like to peer extra posts like this

qweqtt
23 days ago

Normally I do not read article on blogs however I would like to say that this writeup very forced me to try and do so Your writing style has been amazed me Thanks quite great post

biolean reviews
23 days ago

I was suggested this web site by my cousin Im not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble You are incredible Thanks.

biolean reviews
22 days ago

Wow wonderful blog layout How long have you been blogging for you make blogging look easy The overall look of your site is great as well as the content.

cerebrozen reviews
18 days ago

I truly relished the effort you’ve invested here. The design is tasteful, your authored material fashionable, however, you seem to have acquired some unease about what you intend to present henceforth. Undoubtedly, I’ll revisit more regularly, similar to I have nearly all the time, in the event you sustain this rise.

cerebrozen reviews
18 days ago

I genuinely enjoyed the work you’ve put in here. The outline is refined, your written content stylish, yet you appear to have obtained some apprehension regarding what you wish to deliver thereafter. Assuredly, I will return more frequently, akin to I have almost constantly, provided you maintain this climb.

cerebrozen reviews
18 days ago

I genuinely savored the work you’ve put forth here. The outline is refined, your authored material trendy, however, you seem to have obtained some trepidation about what you wish to deliver next. Assuredly, I will revisit more regularly, akin to I have nearly all the time, provided you maintain this upswing.

cerebrozen reviews
18 days ago

I genuinely savored the work you’ve put forth here. The outline is refined, your authored material trendy, however, you seem to have obtained some trepidation about what you wish to deliver next. Assuredly, I will revisit more regularly, akin to I have nearly all the time, provided you maintain this upswing.

cerebrozen reviews
18 days ago

I genuinely appreciated what you’ve achieved here. The outline is tasteful, your written content fashionable, yet you appear to have acquired some uneasiness regarding what you wish to present forthwith. Undoubtedly, I’ll return more frequently, similar to I have almost constantly, should you sustain this upswing.

cerebrozen reviews
18 days ago

I sincerely appreciated the effort you’ve invested here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material chic, however, you seem to have developed some uneasiness about what you aim to offer henceforth. Certainly, I shall revisit more regularly, just as I have been doing nearly all the time, should you uphold this climb.

cerebrozen reviews
18 days ago

I truly appreciated the work you’ve put forth here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish, yet you appear to have developed some nervousness regarding what you intend to deliver next. Rest assured, I’ll return more regularly, much like I’ve done almost constantly, should you maintain this upward trajectory.

cerebrozen
17 days ago

I truly admired the work you’ve put in here. The design is refined, your authored material stylish, however, you seem to have acquired some trepidation about what you intend to present next. Undoubtedly, I’ll revisit more regularly, similar to I have nearly all the time, in the event you sustain this rise.

zencortex reviews
16 days ago

The breadth of knowledge compiled on this website is astounding. Every article is a well-crafted masterpiece brimming with insights. I’m grateful to have discovered such a rich educational resource. You’ve gained a lifelong fan!

Sugar Defender
12 days ago

Thank you for your openness to explore various topics! If you have any specific questions or areas of interest you’d like to discuss, feel free to share them. Whether it’s about the latest advancements in technology, recent scientific breakthroughs, thought-provoking literature, or any other subject, I’m here to offer insights and assistance. Just let me know how I can be of help, and I’ll do my best to provide valuable information and engage in meaningful discussions!

aeroslim
11 days ago

Thank you for your response! I’m grateful for your willingness to engage in discussions. If there’s anything specific you’d like to explore or if you have any questions, please feel free to share them. Whether it’s about emerging trends in technology, recent breakthroughs in science, intriguing literary analyses, or any other topic, I’m here to assist you. Just let me know how I can be of help, and I’ll do my best to provide valuable insights and information!

Healthy Hearing Family Support Service

What a fantastic resource! The articles are meticulously crafted, offering a perfect balance of depth and accessibility. I always walk away having gained new understanding. My sincere appreciation to the team behind this outstanding website.

zencortex
3 days ago

I was just as impressed as you were. Your sketch is beautiful and your written content is excellent. Nevertheless, you may be worried that you will be doing something contentious going forward. I concur that you will fix this quickly.

fitspresso reviews
3 days ago

I share your level of appreciation for the work you have produced. The visual you have displayed is tasteful, and the content you have written is stylish. However, you seem to be uneasy about the possibility of delivering something that may be viewed as dubious in the near future. I agree that you will be able to address this concern in a timely manner.